Books

10 Inspirational Books Like The Alchemist

Do you think you would have gone on a long journey like the protagonist in The Alchemist, for an unknown hidden treasure? Did you like the emotionally engaging plot of The Alchemist? What do you think could have been done differently in the story of The Alchemist and do you think about such hypothetical situations based on books like the Alchemist often? If yes, you should read more books like The Alchemist and help you with that, here is a list of similar books.

Do you like reading books like The Alchemist? Are you interested in reading books that have philosophical teachings written elaborately? Do you want to read books that describe a mentally and physically challenging journey that ultimately results in personal growth? Are you interested in going on to a journey of self-discovery that will lead you to spiritual enlightenment, through a book?

Here is a list of books like The Alchemist for readers who love themes like traveling, the journey of self-discovery and philosophical and spiritual tones in a book.

The Pilgrimage

  • Author: Paulo Coelho
  • Publication date: 1987

Many readers prefer to read books by the same author once they like one of the books the author has written. Readers who want to read books like The Alchemist can easily go for The Pilgrimage as not only the author is the same but the theme of traveling and going on a journey of self-discovery with philosophical and spiritual challenges. The Pilgrimage is a book about how the author takes a long walk by walking the Camino de Santiago in Spain and the experiences he has with all the mental and physical challenges during the journey.

Shantaram

  • Author: Gregory David Roberts
  • Publication date: 2003

Shantaram by Gregory David Roberts can be seen on the same list that has The Alchemist as both books have a common topic, which is, traveling. Shantaram is a book about a convicted felon, Lin, who flees to India in order to escape Jail. The book is about all the experiences Lin has in a foreign country like India.

The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari

  • Author: Robin Sharma
  • Publication date: 1997

The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari by Robin Sharma contains elements like traveling, the journey of personal growth and philosophical teachings that are similar to that of The Alchemist. After a heart attack, Julian, a high-profile lawyer decides to find more meaning in his life and leaves his career. The story is portrayed by John, Julian’s colleague as Julian is telling all the experiences of his journey and all about his traveling and life with monks in the Himalayas.

The Kite Runner

  • Author: Khaled Hosseini
  • Publication date: 2003

Even though The kite runner does not have a traveling story or philosophical touch, the style of writing of this book resembles a lot to The Alchemist. This book is about the story of two boys who belong to two different ethnic tribes but are good friends till a Soviet invasion causes one of the boy’s family to leave the country and immigrate to the USA.

Life of Pi, by

  • Author: Yann Martel
  • Publication date: September 2001

Life of Pi is a book about Pi who strives to survive on a lifeboat and all the experiences he has while doing so. Pi’s father has a zoo in India and when they decide to immigrate to Canada, they board a ship along with the animals from the zoo. The shipwrecks before arriving and Pi manages to get a small lifeboat but also has some of the animals with him on the boat and then has life-changing experiences.

Into the Wild

  • Author: Jon Krakauer
  • Publication date: 1996

Into the wild can be recommended for people who want to read books like the Alchemist because it also has some elements like traveling and going on a journey of personal growth, in common. Into the wild, which was also made into a movie, is a book about a young college graduate who donates his life savings to charity and follows his dream of leaving the mundane rules of society and live in Alaska. The book is about the people he meets on his journey and also about the impact his disappearance has on his family.

Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance

  • Author: Robert M. Pirsig
  • Publication date: 1974

Readers who are looking for books to read that have similar combinations of physical, philosophical and spiritual journey written beautifully, Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance by Robert M. Pirsig can be highly recommended. The book is about how Pirsig takes a motorcycle trip with his son during summer and how they fix the motorcycle after some issue and while fixing the bike, they find themselves having long philosophical discussions about various important topics.

Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail

  • Author: Cheryl Strayed
  • Publication date: March 2012

Wild by Cheryl Strayed has focused on a long journey and the trials, the tribulations that come with it. It is a book about the true story of Strayed who, after a period of drug abuse that was followed by the death of her mother; decided to travel the Pacific Crest Trail solo. Wild can be seen as a beautifully written book that reflects her growth because of all the mental and physical challenges she faces during the long walk.

Siddhartha

Author: Hermann Hesse

Publication date: 1922

The spiritual and philosophical tone that alchemist has can be seen in Siddhartha by Hermann Hesse. Siddhartha is about a wealthy Indian man who goes on a quest of spiritual enlightenment and knowledge and gives up his material possessions. On his journey, he meets different people from different walks of life that teach him valuable and unique lessons that help him with his personal growth.

The Prophet

  • Author: Kahlil Gibran
  • Publication date: 1923

The Prophet can be suggested as a book like The Alchemist as it also has knowledge and wisdom imparted in the plot. It is a collection of beautifully written poetic essays about many topics like love, eating or drinking. It is also very popular for the culture of the Middle East that is shown in it as it is written by a person who is from the Middle East and is set in the Middle East; which makes it authentic.