Books

9 Incredible Books Like Where the Crawdads Sing

People that like to read books probably have come across Where The Crawdads Sing and have liked it after reading. Delia Owens has written this mysterious family drama so beautifully that it is one of the best selling books! The book has two timelines and describes how Kya, the main character adapts to the world she has to live in.

It is a human tendency that once a person finds something they like, they will search for more things like it. In the case of reading books, people try to read books that have similar tones or plot or character traits.

Here is a list of books that resemble Where The Crawdads Sing. The below-listed books are in some way or other like Where The Crawdads Sing, so you will definitely want to read more books like it.

The Great Alone

  • Author: Kristin Hannah
  • Publication Date: 2017

The Great Alone has the same theme of a human being in the great nature living the life they have as it is in Where The Crawdads Sing. The Great Alone instantly topped the New York Times bestseller list.

Kristen Hannah writes an unpredictable and unforgiving plot that is set in the Alaskan wild. When Ernt returns from the war in Vietnam, he finds himself changed. He has now become aggressive, volatile and it is hard for him to adapt to the life he has had before the war which makes him struggle to keep a job or any stability as he impulsively tries to escape any certainty. He goes to North Alaska for a fresh start and finds him and the family doing well. But when the Alaskan winter gives them 18 hours of darkness in the winter, the new life seems to crumble and everything starts to fall apart.

The Snow Child

  • Author: Eowyn Ivey
  • Publication Date: 2011

The Snow Child was one of the finalists for Pulitzer prize in 2013. The Snow Child resembles Where The Crawdads Sing as it has an element of the sorrows of loneliness or not being fulfilled with the life one has. The couple in the book, Jack and Mabel, are without children. Jack is tired of the work he has to do in their farm and loneliness cripples Mabel. One day, a ray of happiness shines in their lives as they build a snow child outside only to have it disappeared. But instead of that snow child, there are a girl named Faina and her fox that she hunts with. The compelling plot of The Snow Child captivates the reader’s mind and is thrilling as nothing is as it seems in the violent but hauntingly beautiful Alaskan forest.

Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine

  • Author: Gail Honeyman
  • Publication Date: 2017

Like Where The Crawdads Sing, Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine has some elements like loneliness or having to live life all alone and still reflects kindness. Gail Honeyman has written Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine beautifully and it can be a great choice for people who want to read more books like Where The Crawdads Sing.

Eleanor Oliphant is a 29-year-old socially awkward, intelligent person and has a mundane lifestyle that she maintains by following the same routine all her life until she meets a lead singer of a local band. Meeting the singer makes her realize he is the one and she goes on a quest of love. In this journey, readers get to know Eleanor’s troubled past that is the reason why she is the way she is.

Annie John

  • Author: Jamaica Kincaid
  • Publication date: March 1985

Annie John is similar to Where The Crawdads Sing as, it is about Annie, who has disappointed everyone around her and needs emotional as well as intellectual support. In Where The Crawdads Sing, Kya is living on her own and could definitely use some support as could Annie in Annie John. But instead of supporting and helping Annie, her parents and teachers let her be and fail her.

This book, like Where The Crawdads Sing, also has the tones of loneliness hurting and having to live the life that one has at it is.

Before We Were Yours

Author: Lisa Wingate

Publication Date: June 2017

Before We Were Yours is a book with two narratives that circle over past and present. The first narrative is established in Memphis, 1993 where Rill Foss and her siblings are introduced to the reader. These siblings are targetted for a kidnapping scandal, end up in the Tennessee Children’s Home Society Orphanage and Rill struggles to keep her siblings together. The second narrative is present-day in South Carolina. This is one of the books like Where The Crawdads Sing because there are interweaving narratives and obligations that come with family bondings elaborately written in it.

Swamplandia

  • Author: Karen Russell
  • Publication date: February 2011

Swamplandia can be a very distinctive book in this list and not that similar to Where The Crawdads Sing. But the plot of both books is about a girl living in a secluded area with a dysfunctional family background. In Swamplandia, Ava, the protagonist, has to fight for her family’s wellbeing. She has to fight the “Underworld”. In the end, she does come out of it successfully and saves her family.

Educated

  • Author: Tara Westover
  • Publication Date: February 2018

Educated, by Tara Westover is a memoir but it is similar to the book Where The Crawdads Sing because it is a story about a woman succeeding against all odds and challenges she has to face. Westover had a Mormon family and she grew up in secluded mountains of Idaho. The struggle of adjusting with a world far away from the isolated mountains, to get accepted at Cambridge University for a Ph.D. program even though she did not have a formal education before the age of 17 is written beautifully in Educated.

Like Kya in Where The Crawdads Sing, Westover also goes through a phase of her life where she is challenged to adapt to a totally different life. Educated can also be seen as a real-life coming of age story with mysterious, intrinsic tones.

Himself

Author: Jess Kidd

Publication date: October 2016

Himself resembles Where The Crawdads Sing as the main character has lost their parent in both the books. In Himself, the main character is an orphan and he is on a search for his mother. There are natural and supernatural circumstances in the book that make the plot engaging.

The Marsh King’s Daughter

Author: Karen Dionne

Publication date: June 2017

If you are looking for more mystery like in Where The Crawdads Sing, The Marsh King’s Daughter is a great option for you as the mysterious element in the plot of the book is common in both the said books. Helena, who is the main character of The Marsh King’s Daughter and grew up in a secluded cabin in the woods with her parents. Later, it is revealed to the readers that Helena’s mother was kidnapped and held captive by Helena’s father since Helena’s mother was a young girl. Helena’s father teaches her necessary life skills to live off the land. Now, the plot is, that Helena is all grown up and is the only one who can find her father, who has escaped from prison.